Tangerine's complaint process

What is considered a complaint?

A complaint is an expression of dissatisfaction that is received by / expressed to the Bank, in writing or verbally, about a Bank product or service (or the manner in which either is offered or sold), or the complaint-handling process itself, where a response or resolution is expected.

A complaint may be provided to a Tangerine employee through a variety of sources or channels including email, phone or mail, through social media, or verbally at the Café.

How to escalate complaints

We are committed to providing consumers with exceptional service. To ensure your complaint is dealt with quickly and effectively, the below information explains who to contact, Tangerine’s process, and the steps to take should you wish to move forward with a complaint. You are welcome to request a status update of your complaint at any time during the process.

Pathways to Complaint Resolution

As a first course of action, please contact one of our Associates at 1-888-826-4374 (English) or 1-844-826-4374 (French).  If the first person you speak with is not able to resolve your complaint, please ask to speak directly to a manager, who may be able to resolve many issues that arise.

Tangerine can also be emailed at info@tangerine.ca. However, this should be used for general inquires only, as it is not considered a secure form of communication. For our clients’ protection, we ask that they call one of our Associates directly to discuss Account specific details.

Upon expressing a complaint to the Bank, you will receive a written acknowledgment including a case number and details of Tangerine’s complaint handling process. You may also receive communication at the conclusion of your complaint.

Contact Tangerine Client Response Group (CRG)

If your complaint is not resolved after 14 days at the first step, it will be escalated to the Tangerine Client Response Group (CRG), the second step in complaint resolution process. You may also request escalation at any time during the 14 days or if you are dissatisfied with the response provided. Upon escalation, we will notify you of the updated point of contact.

We aim to resolve each case as quickly as possible; however, should this exceed 56 days, you will receive a notification outlining next steps. When your case is concluded at the CRG, you will be sent communication outlining the Bank’s response.

E-mail (English): theclientresponsegroup@tangerine.ca
E-mail (French): groupedecommunication@tangerine.ca
Mail:  Tangerine Client Response Group, 3389 Steeles Avenue East, Toronto, ON, M2H 0A1
Fax: 416-758-5297 or toll-free: 1-877-505-3240

Still not Resolved?

Contact the Customer Complaints Appeals Office (CCAO)

If you are not satisfied following the investigation by the Tangerine CRG, you may submit your complaint in writing to the Customer Complaints Appeals Office (CCAO). The CCAO provides an impartial review of customer complaints for Scotiabank and its domestic subsidiaries, which includes Tangerine Bank, upon request of the client.

When you escalate a complaint to the CCAO, the Terms of Reference will apply.  You may view the CCAO Terms of Reference here.

We aim to resolve each case as quickly as possible; however, should this exceed 56 days, you will receive a notification outlining next steps. When your case is concluded at the CCAO, you will be sent communication outlining the Bank’s response.

E-mail: CCAO@scotiabank.com
Mail: Customer Complaints Appeals Office, 44 King Street West Toronto, ON M5H 1H1
Telephone: 1-800-785-8772
Fax: 1-866-787-7061

2021 Annual Report

Contact an External Complaints Body for banking complaints

ADR Chambers Banking Ombuds Office (ADRBO) has been appointed by the Bank to undertake an impartial review of unresolved banking complaints.  You may choose to contact ADRBO if there has been no response within 56 days or if you are not satisfied with the outcome provided through the CCAO.

E-mail: contact@bankingombuds.ca
Mail: ADR Chambers Banking Ombudsman, P.O. Box 1006, 31 Adelaide St. East, Toronto, ON M5C 2K4
Telephone: 1-800-941-3655
Fax: 1-877-803-5127


Contact the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC)

The FCAC supervises federally regulated financial institutions to ensure they comply with federal consumer protection laws. For example, financial institutions must provide consumers with transparent information about fees, interest rates, and complaint-handling procedures. If you have a complaint about such a regulatory matter, you can contact the FCAC at:

Mail: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada 427 Laurier Avenue West, 6th Floor Ottawa, Ontario K1R 1B9
Telephone: (English) 1-866-461-3222 or (French) 1-866-461-2232
Fax: 1-866-814-2224 / 1-613-941-1436
Website: www.fcac-acfc.gc.ca

If you have a complaint related to your Investment Fund Account, please see the ‘Summary of Tangerine Investment Funds Limited Complaint Handling Procedures’.

For Legal Issues in Quebec please contact:

McCarthy Tétrault LLP
Bureau 2500
1000, rue De La Gauchetière Ouest
Montréal QC H3B 0A2
Attention: Tangerine

Processus de traitement des plaintes

Qu’est-ce qu’une plainte?

Une plainte est l’expression d’un mécontentement reçu ou exprimé à la Banque, par écrit ou verbalement, au sujet d’un produit ou d’un service de la Banque (ou de la manière dont l’un ou l’autre est offert ou vendu), ou du processus de traitement de la plainte lui-même, lorsqu’une réponse ou une résolution est attendue.

Une plainte peut être transmise à un employé de Tangerine par une variété de sources ou de canaux, y compris le courriel, le téléphone ou le courrier, les médias sociaux ou verbalement dans un Café.

Comment transmettre une plainte aux niveaux supérieurs

Nous nous engageons à fournir aux consommateurs un service exceptionnel. Pour assurer le traitement rapide et efficace de votre plainte, nous vous offrons ces renseignements ci-dessous qui expliquent qui contacter, le processus de Tangerine et les étapes à suivre si vous désirez aller de l’avant pour déposer une plainte. Vous pouvez demander une mise à jour du statut de votre plainte à tout moment pendant le processus.

Voies de résolution des plaintes

La première chose à faire est de contacter l’un de nos associés au 1-844-826-4374 (français) ou au 1-888-826-4374 (anglais). Si la première personne à qui vous parlez n’est pas en mesure de résoudre votre plainte, veuillez demander à parler directement à un gestionnaire, qui pourrait être en mesure de résoudre de nombreux problèmes.

Vous pouvez également envoyer un courriel à Tangerine à l’adresse info@tangerine.ca. N’envoyez pas de renseignements confidentiels à cette adresse, puisque les courriels ne sont pas considérés comme un moyen sécurisé de communication. Pour discuter des détails touchant votre compte, nous vous demandons, pour votre protection personnelle, de téléphoner directement à notre centre d’appels.

Après avoir formulé une plainte à la banque, vous recevrez un accusé de réception écrit comprenant un numéro de dossier et une copie du processus de traitement de plaintes de Tangerine. Vous pouvez également recevoir une correspondance à la fin du traitement de votre plainte, informer de la nouvelle personne responsable de votre dossier.

Contacter le Groupe de soutien à la clientèle de Tangerine

Si votre plainte n’est pas résolue après 14 jours, elle sera transmise au Groupe de soutien à la clientèle de Tangerine. Vous pouvez également demander la transmission de votre plainte à un cadre supérieur à tout moment pendant la période de 14 jours ou, le cas échéant, lorsque vous n’êtes pas satisfait de la réponse fournie. Lors de la transmission de votre plainte, nous vous informerons de la nouvelle personne responsable de votre dossier.

Nous nous efforçons de résoudre chaque plainte aussi rapidement que possible. Toutefois, si le délai dépasse 56 jours, nous vous informerons des pochaines étapes à suivre. Lorsque votre affaire est conclue par le Bureau d’appel des plaintes des clients, vous recevrez une correspondance décrivant la réponse de la Banque.

Courriel (français) : groupedecommunication@tangerine.ca
Courriel (anglais) : theclientresponsegroup@tangerine.ca
Courrier : Groupe de soutien à la clientèle de Tangerine, 3389, avenue Steeles Est, Toronto, (Ontario) M2H 0A1
Télécopieur : 416-758-5297 ou 1-877-505-3240 (sans frais)

Toujours pas résolu?

Contactez le Bureau d’appel des plaintes des clients (BAPC)

Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait à la suite de l’enquête menée par le Groupe de soutien à la clientèle de Tangerine, vous pouvez soumettre votre plainte par écrit au Bureau d’appel des plaintes des clients (BAPC). Le BAPC offre une révision impartiale des plaintes des clients à la demande de ces derniers.

Lorsque vous transmettez une plainte au BAPC, ses lignes directrices s’appliquent. Vous pouvez consulter les lignes directrices du BAPC ici

Nous nous efforçons de résoudre chaque plainte aussi rapidement que possible. Toutefois, si le délai dépasse 56 jours, nous vous informerons des pochaines étapes à suivre. Lorsque votre affaire est conclue par le BAPC, vous recevrez une correspondance décrivant la réponse de la Banque.

Courriel : CCAO@scotiabank.com
Courrier : Bureau d’appel des plaintes des clients, 44, rue King Ouest Toronto, (Ontario) M5H 1H1
Téléphone : 1-800-785-8772
Télécopieur : 1-866-787-7061

Rapport annuel 2021

Contacter un organisme externe de traitement des plaintes concernant les plaintes bancaires

ADR Chambers – Bureau de l’Ombudsman des services bancaires (ADRBO) a été désigné par Tangerine pour entreprendre un examen impartial des plaintes bancaires non résolues. Vous pouvez choisir de contacter l’ADRBO s’il n’y a pas eu de réponse à votre plainte dans un délai de 56 jours ou si vous n’êtes pas satisfait du résultat fourni par le BAPC.

Voici les coordonnées de l’ADRBO :
Courriel : contact@bankingombuds.ca
Courrier : ADR Chambers – Bureau de l’Ombudsman des services bancaires Case postale 1006, 31, rue Adelaide Est, Toronto (Ontario) M5C 2K4
Téléphone : 1-800-941-3655
Télécopieur : 1-877-803-5127

Communiquer avec l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC)

L’ACFC supervise les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale pour s’assurer qu’elles se conforment aux lois fédérales sur la protection des consommateurs. Par exemple, les institutions financières doivent fournir aux consommateurs des renseignements transparents sur les frais, les taux d’intérêt et les procédures de traitement des plaintes. Si vous avez une plainte à formuler au sujet d’une question de réglementation, vous pouvez communiquer par écrit avec l’ACFC à l’adresse suivante :

Courrier : Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, 427, avenue Laurier Ouest, 6e étage, Ottawa (Ontario) K1R 1B9
Téléphone : (français) 1-866-461-2232 ou (anglais) 1-866-461-3222
Télécopieur : 1-866-814-2224 / 1-613-941-1436
Site Web : www.fcac-acfc.gc.ca

Si vous avez une plainte liée à votre compte de fonds d’investissement, consultez le Résumé de la procédure de traitement des plaintes de Fonds d’investissement Tangerine ltée.

Pour des questions juridiques au Québec, veuillez contacter :

McCarthy Tétrault LLP
Bureau 2500
1000, rue De La Gauchetière Ouest
Montréal QC H3B 0A2
Attention : Tangerine